ICDAD

International Committee
for Museums and Collections
of Decorative Arts and Design

Conference Archive

Registration now open for "Hidden Gems", October 15-16

October 1, 2020

The ICDAD 2020 virtual conference looks at "hidden gem" objects, exploring collections from Asia, Europe, the US, and Mexico. Please register here.

Program

Times are listed for New York, Paris, and the local time of each presenter.

DAY 1: Thursday, October 15
Session One
7:00 AM USA Eastern time; 13:00 Paris; 16:00 Ekaterinburg, Russia; 19:00 Taiwan; 20:00 Japan

Naoyuki Watanabe — Oda Collection of 20th Century Design

Annie Ting-An Lin — Objects Betwixt and Between: Objects from the Nationaal Museum van Wereldculturen

Ludmila Budrina — Malachites of the Demidoff Family: Reconstruction of the Collection and Potential Digital Representation

Moderators: Melissa Rinne, Shoshana Resnikoff

Session Two
12:00 PM USA Eastern time; 18:00 Paris; 18:00 Netherlands; 19:00 Finland

Femke Coevert, Dafne Diamante, Aafke Weller, and Maud van Suylen — Panoramas from the Depths of the Rijksmuseum’s Storage Room

Maddalena Napolitani — Balthazar-Georges Sage: The “Hidden Collector” and his Cabinet of Decorative Arts

Leena Svinhufvud and Susanna Thiel — The Design Attic: Investigating Hidden Processes in Designer Archives

Moderators: Kai Lobjakas, Shoshana Resnikoff

Session Three
7:00 PM USA Eastern; 1:00 Paris; 6:00 PM Mexico Central

Rebecca Tilles — Uncovering Hillwood, Washington D.C.’s Hidden Gem

Harrison Schley – The Zalinsky Collection: A Union Soldier’s Trove of Japanese Swords and Art

Claudia Marín — Devotion and Self-Representation in the 18th Century: Arts and Crafts at Museo de Arte Religioso Ex Convento de Santa Mónica

Moderators: Annamarie Sandecki, Shoshana Resnikoff


DAY 2: Friday, October 16
Session Four
9 AM USA Eastern; 15:00 Paris; 14:00 Portugal

Levi Higgs —Mining the David Webb Jewelry Archive

Naoko Adachi — Finding a Place in Museums for Japanese Photograph Albums from the Late-Nineteenth Century

Samantha Coleman-Aller — Hidden Gems: A Rare Group of Irish Glass Pieces

Moderators: Kai Lobjakas, Shoshana Resnikoff


Letters from the Board

ICDAD Grants 2020-2021

July 31, 2020

Deadline of Application: August 30, 2020

ICDAD is announcing grants of the amount of 500 and 1,000 euros for 2020 and 2021. All individual and institutional members of ICDAD are welcome to apply. Collaborations with ICOM national or regional groups, with other ICOM international committees, or other partners are allowed and encouraged.

The proposed projects should fit into the following categories of activity:

  • conferences, trainings and meetings
  • publications and research activities
  • activities for young members
  • actions encouraging exchange with emerging countries
  • cooperation with other ICOM committees and/or Regional Alliances

For more information, please click here.


Letters from the Board

ICDAD General Assembly on 28 July 2020

July 4, 2020

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, ICDAD’s General Assembly will take place virtually on the Zoom platform.

The ICDAD General Assembly is scheduled for Tuesday, 28 July 2020, at 2:00 PM Paris time. It will take place using the Zoom platform and is open to all current ICDAD members in good standing (meaning you paid your 2020 membership fee).

Participation:

[Registration is closed] When your membership is confirmed, you will receive the meeting link via email. Registration closes on Sunday, 26 July 2020, at 5:00 PM Paris time.

Related documents:


Conference Archive

Virtual Conference 2020 // Call for Papers

May 28, 2020

The 2020 Annual Conference and General Assembly of ICOM International Committee for Museums and Collections of Decorative Arts and Design will take place online from October 15 through October 16, organized around the theme of "Hidden Gems."

The previously scheduled conference in Lisbon, organized around the theme of "Revivals," will be postponed until 2021. All original submissions for that conference will be considered again at that time, and a CFP will be reposted at a later date.

Click here for the 2020 CFP: ICDAD CFP Hidden Gems 2020

Image: Storeroom – National Palace of Ajuda, Lisbon


Conference Archive

Conference // Lisbon 2020 // POSTPONED TO 2021

May 28, 2020

The ICDAD conference and annual meeting originally planned for October 2020 in Lisbon has been postponed to 2021 due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

The theme for the 2021 conference will remain the same—"Revivals"—and all papers submitted to the original Call for Papers will be considered for inclusion. The CFP will be renewed in 2021 as well, and the board welcomes additional proposals at that time.

The entire ICDAD board is disappointed to have to postpone the meeting in Lisbon, but the wellbeing and safety of members must be the priority. In place of the meeting in Lisbon, ICDAD will host a virtual conference this fall, with a theme and CFP forthcoming.